Christians Don’t Tell Lies, They Sing Them:

Ouch! That’s all I could think as I listened to Trevor Walker address the crowd at Clover Hill in Richmond.

“Christians don’t Tell Lies, They Sing Them”

Trevor is an incredibly dynamic and talented worship leader. He is one of those guys that just radiates energy when he’s on stage. This time though, he was speaking, not singing. His message was about worship. It really helped me not only understand how much I compartmentalize worship but how God himself views worship. It was an incredibly challenging and encouraging message. Here are a few questions I asked myself after hearing his talk:

  • Do I wait all week for Church just to sing lies? Or do I believe (and live) what i’m singing?
  • If “Traditionalism is the dead faith of the living”, what useless traditions do I need to address and get rid of in my life?
  • If I believe that anything I do for God is worship, how often am I not worshiping God? Worse, how often am I worshiping myself?
  • How many opportunities do I miss every day to worship?

Some of those questions were tough. They made me really think about what I was doing, not just saying. It is important to evaluate what you think you believe and measure it against how you actually live. When I do, I often find that there are some inconsistencies and have to adjust. Not easy to admit, but its true.

If your ever in the Richmond, VA area and need a great place to attend Church, check out Clover Hill. Enter at you own risk though, they will challenge you.

Click here to see the video of Trevor’s the entire message.

What do you think???